BMPA Annual General Meeting 2013

May 18, 2014 - In News

The annual general meeting of Bangladesh Medical Physics Association (BMPA) was held on 10/5/14. At the beginning Professor Gias Uddin Ahmed, the founder chairman reminisced about the various event during 1980s which led to the formation of BMPA in 1998, and how its activities commenced with the participation of international experts. Then Cancer Specialist Prof Syed Akram Hossain made a presentation on safe radiotherapy. In his paper he stressed the importance and responsibility of the medical physicist alongside the radiation oncologist in ensuring safe and effective radiotherapy. After him Professor Siddique-e-Rabbani the current chairperson of BMPA talked about the role of the Department of Biomedical Physics and Technology in the innovation and promotion of physiological measurement and biomedical technology. He also gave and update on the current state of progress and future plans. It may be mentioned that Professor Rabbani is also the chairperson of the Department of Biomedical Physics and Technology. Later a report on the achievement, failures and limitations of the association was presented by Professor Adnan Kiber, the general secretary of BMPA and Professor Rabbani. Some of the members present discussed the issues presented and made important suggestions about how to move forward. After a short review on how to incorporate medical physicists into the health care system of the country, this stage of the meeting was concluded

The third stage of the meeting involved the preparation of the executive committee for the 2014 and 2015 sessions of BMPA under the guidance of the Chief Election Commissioner of BMPA Mr. Syed Reza Hossain. As there were no nominations against the positions, the election commissioner announced the names of the members of the executive committee for 2014 and 2015 sessions, after due discussion with the members present. Dr. K.S. Rabbani is the President and Dr Kamila Afroz, chief scientific officer of NINMAS of the Atomic Energy Commission is the general secretary of the 20 member executive committee. A five member advisory committee was also set up.

After the formation of the new committees, Prof Rabbani sought the cooperation of all in the moving ahead. The meeting ended after an informal lunch.

Leave Your Comment

Department of Biomedical Physics & Technology

Room 15-16, Curzon Hall building, University of Dhaka, Dhaka 1000, Bangladesh


Important Link

Bangladesh Medical Physics Association © 2023. All Rights Reserved.